GWB Time-shifted Workshop
“GWB Community Edition”
Presented online • 22–24 March 2022

This workshop is presented in a time-shifted format for the convenience of participants in East Asia, Australasia, and the western Americas.

Register Now

Please join us from the comfort of your home or office for instructor-led, hands-on training on using the free Community Edition of The Geochemist's Workbench®. This powerful, immensely popular software package is available to the geochemistry community worldwide at no cost.

The workshop will be presented as a fully interactive, instructor led online meeting for three consecutive half-days, from 11:00 to 15:00 HST (21:00 to 01:00 UTC).

This workshop will be of interest to users of all versions of the GWB 2021 software, including the GWB Community Edition.

What you will learn. Following a fully hands-on format, you will learn all the ins and outs of this advanced toolset. Specific topics covered include:

  • Species distribution in solution
  • Saturation and partial pressure
  • Redox disequilibrium
  • The geochemist's spreadsheet GSS
  • Modeling inside GSS datasheets
  • Brines and the “Pitzer equations”
  • Automatic reaction balancing
  • Equilibrium lines and equations
  • Pourbaix, activity, solubility diagrams
  • Surface complexation modeling
  • Triple-layer and CD-MUSIC models
  • The TEdit thermo data editor

Prerequisites: There are no advance requirements for this course beyond an interest in geochemistry and a willingness to learn.

More information? Contact workshop support. Can't come? Consider an alternative from our 2022 workshop lineup.


I thought the workshop was fantastic! The pacing and examples were very good and the course gave me a lot of ideas on how I can better use GWB.

– Morgan Warren, Golder Associates

I loved the [geochemical modeling] workshop! In the future I would really like to take the reactive transport course.

– Ryan Davis, Colorado State University

Prior to the course I found the program daunting, but now I feel comfortable using it and am very impressed with what I can do.

– Ashlee D., Penn State University


Instructors

The workshop will be presented by Brian Farrell, Jia Wang, Robert Sanford, Qusheng Jin, and Matthew Kirk. Brian and Jia are Geochemists at Aqueous Solutions LLC, makers of The Geochemist's Workbench®.

Brian Farrell
Brian Farrell

Brian Farrell has many years of experience in developing and applying geochemical and reactive transport models. He is expert in aquifer microbiology, geochemical modeling, and reactive transport in geochemical systems. Brian has taught short courses in North and South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australasia.

Jia Wang is an aqueous and isotope geochemist and a reactive transport modeler with special expertise in weathering and the critical zone. She has many years of experience as an instructor at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and as a noted mentor to less experienced students at the secondary through graduate levels.

Jia Wang
Jia Wang
Robert Sanford
Robert Sanford
Robert Sanford is an environmental microbiologist and microbial geochemist. A Michigan State University Ph.D., he has extensive field, laboratory, and modeling experience across a spectrum of geochemical environments. Rob is a noted educator and mentor at the University of Illinois, and uses the GWB extensively in his classroom.

Qusheng Jin is a professor of Earth Science at the University of Oregon. Qusheng leverages his mechanistic understanding of biological processes to develop new modeling theories and methods, and to apply them to natural and contaminated environments. Cited for his University teaching accomplishments, Qusheng is an experienced workshop instructor.

Qusheng Jin Qusheng Jin
Matthew Kirk Matthew Kirk
Matthew Kirk is a professor in the Department of Geology at Kansas State University. His research integrates concepts from geochemistry, microbiology, and hydrogeology to answer questions related to water, energy, and the environment. An experienced geochemical modeler, Matt has long structured his classroom teaching around the GWB.


Registration

Register Now

Space is limited, so sign up early. The workshop fee is US$299 until March 4, or $349 after that date.

A registration may be transfered to another participant at no charge, and is fully refundable until 30 days before the workshop. Liability in the event of workshop cancellation or other eventuality is limited to refund of the registration fee.


How to participate

Plan to enjoy this online workshop from the comfort of your own home or office! We will use a secure video conferencing platform that allows participants to ask questions, share their screens, and generally interact with the instructors and other participants.

Please plan to join the online meeting room from 21:00 to 01:00 UTC, or:

Beijing 05:00–09:00
Tokyo 06:00–10:00
Sydney 07:00–11:00
Honolulu 11:00–15:00
San Francisco 14:00–18:00
Chicago 16:00–20:00
New York 17:00–21:00
London 22:00–02:00

We will take periodic breaks between instructional units over the course of each meeting.

Please expect an email containing a meeting ID and password in the days leading up to the workshop.


Before the workshop

As the workshop date approaches, please take note of the following:

  • If you do not have access to the GWB 2021 software, begin by downloading the free GWB Community Edition.
  • Please make sure a version of GWB 2021 is installed and activated on a computer running MS Windows before joining the workshop.
  • About a week ahead of the workshop, we will send you the workshop schedule along with two pdf files.
  • The first pdf file holds the complete set of PowerPoint slides to be shown by workshop instructors, in chronologic order, for your reference during and after the workshop.
  • We recommend you print and spiral bind the second pdf file, containing the workbook you will use to complete hands-on exercises.
  • We think you will be happiest if you have two computer screens available. That way, you will be able to take part in the workshop on one screen, while you use the other to run the software.

Sponsorship

The workshop is presented courtesy of Aqueous Solutions LLC, makers of The Geochemist's Workbench® software package.

Aqueous Solutions The Geochemist's Workbench